Renting an apartment or a home in Arizona? Luckily, most renter laws in the state favor tenants over landlords. In fact, Arizona is ranked 5th as the best state for renters rights.
RENTCafé recently released a list of the states with the best renters rights for tenants. Out of 100 possible points, Arizona scored 70 points. Vermont was on top of the list with a score of 90. While Alabama fell to the bottom of the list with a shocking score of 12.5. These points are calculated based on the rights that cater to tenants.
Since the 2008 housing market crash, those renting across the state has gone up, with the number of people who own dropping 10 percent in just the last 10 years in the Phoenix-Mesa and Scottsdale area. Arizona continues to see an increase in renters with a number of new apartment complexes and condominiums popping up around the Valley. However, it isn’t just apartments and condos that are being rented out. Homes being rented out in the metro Phoenix area has jumped from 25 percent to 45 percent.
Laws in Favor of Renters
If you are a month to month renter, your landlord must give you 30 days notice if they are going to increase your rent. Landlords are also not allowed to charge you more than one and a half of your rent for a security deposit. When it comes to repairs, under Arizona law, tenants are allowed to do their own repairs and deduct the costs from the rent total. Also, if your landlord is failing to do their job properly, tenants have the right to withhold rent. If your landlord does plan on entering your home, they must give you at least 48 hours notice before doing so.
Unfavorable Renters Laws
Arizona didn’t score perfectly, so they do have some renters laws that do not favor the tenants. If you violate your lease and in other extreme conditions, landlords can serve an Unconditional Quit Notice, giving you only 5 days notice to terminate the lease for unpaid rent or 10 days notice for any other lease violations.
Feature photo by Binyamin Mellish from Pexels